Questioning with #MTBoS

betterquestions.PNG

I have a student.  He asks questions.  A lot of kids ask questions.  However, he asks the questions, and keeps questioning until he gets it.  His perseverance is strong, but he works it until it works for him.  I wish more students were like this.  I wish more adults could be like him…  In fact, I would like to strive to be like him in this way more often.

The answer to the riddle on a recent wkst ended up, “I pine fir yew.”  The students asked what was a yew.  Yea!  A simple question.  What I wished is that they had tried to figure out what the answer to the riddle meant- the verb ‘pine’, the word ‘yew’ on their own.  So we took time to look up the image of a yew, and learned that it’s a conifer, with one example residing in a cemetery, 1600 years old!   So then what questions might  that have opened up for our class?  But, no.  We had to move on….

So this takes me to the mention of some questioning ideas and sites I’ve used previously.  I’m betting that most who are reading the blogs initiated by #MTBoS have found these and utilized them.  If I miss a few, please send me a note and I’ll add them to this page. (and thanks to Fawn Nguyen’s website for directing me to these!)

101 questions

math arguments 180

estimation 180

would you rather

which one doesn’t belong?

open middle

One of the best things about teaching middle school students is that you never know what’s going on in that brain of theirs – and be ready to be marveled!

Thanks to #MTBoS, I came across Laura Lee’s Blog.  In it she comments on how she is a Math Contemplator (a term coined? or at least explained on Matt Bianco’s blog).  Take time to read both of theirs.  Interesting!

 

3 thoughts on “Questioning with #MTBoS

  1. When writing for this prompt I hadn’t thought of students like that, but now that I read your post I have students exactly like that!

    Excited to look through the links. Thanks!

  2. You know, the thing I like best about this blogging initiative is finding more middle school teachers who are trying to better themselves for their students. I truly appreciate that.

    It’s also affirming to know that several of the resources you site, I too use. 🙂

Leave a Reply

